Pune division 16 railway stations to be upgraded

Under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme (ABSS), an approximate amount of Rs 300 crore has been allocated for the redevelopment of a total of 16 railway stations within the Pune division. Under this project, a total of 508 railway stations across India have been identified for development, with an estimated expenditure of Rs 24,470 crore.

The implementation of this programme will be carried out in three distinct phases. The initial phase will encompass the regions of Talegaon, Akurdi, and Kolhapur, all of which fall under the Pune Division. According to an official, the completion of the initial phase of work is projected to be in the timeframe of March to April of the upcoming year.

During a press conference held on August 4, Indu Dubey, the Divisional Railway Manager, stated that the renovation of all the designated railway stations will draw inspiration from the local cultural history. Under this proposal, several amenities such as foot over bridges, lifts, escalators, and similar facilities would be constructed.

The proposed reconstruction aims to offer contemporary facilities and ensure efficient traffic flow, seamless integration of different modes of transport, and clear and well-planned signage for the guidance of passengers. The construction agency responsible for the implementation of this plan is the Gati Shakti Unit.

On August 6th, the stone foundation for the inaugural stage of the ABSS programme will be laid by Prime Minister Narendra Modi during a virtual conference. Subsequently, at 11 am, he will deliver a speech through video conferencing.

It is imperative to incorporate public participation in the growth of Indian Railways. Passengers have been requested to give ideas. The objective of the initiative is to enhance the overall client experience. Dubey stated that the participation of both local residents and well-known figures from the respective regions is sought in order to obtain recommendations for the process of rehabilitation.

The general public has the opportunity to submit recommendations for enhancing station facilities by emailing drmpune@gmail.com on or before August 15th. She further stated that a competition including essays and paintings took place in a total of nine educational institutions situated within the Pune Division’s three designated areas. The recipients of the awards will be bestowed with honours by esteemed individuals who have been formally invited to attend the ceremony.

Furthermore, the ABSS system encompasses the regions of Hathkanangale, Sangli, Karad, Satara, Wathar, Lonand, Dehu Road, Chinchwad, Hadapsar, Uruli, Kedgaon, Baramati, and Phaltan.

Leave a Comment